Typographic Narrative

Here is a link to my typographic narrative:

Typeface Narrative

After knowing what I want to do for this great project, I started exploring calligraphy through an English calligraphic pen *thanks to Ameena she reminded me about it πŸ˜€ *. It was difficult to use and I needed more practice. I remembered that I have a mini ‘unprofessional’ calligraphic set at home and I am always excited to use it. I have to be honest about it, the set got a bit old but it did a good job πŸ˜‰

I used two different heads and tried out the letters. Here are the results:

This was done with the English calligraphic pen and some pencil sketches

This was done with the English calligraphic pen and some pencil sketches

The first head that I used to explore English letters

The first head that I used to explore English letters

These are sketches of Arabic letters using the first head and the thick ones are done used the second head

These are sketches of Arabic letters using the first head and the thick ones are done used the second head

These are Arabic letter done by the second head (thicker one) I preferred this head for the Arabic letters

These are Arabic letter done by the second head (thicker one) I preferred this head for the Arabic letters

More Arabic with the second head

More Arabic with the second head

I missed out some letters after I have decided to stop, I will try them out again with the ink inshaAllah

I missed out some letters after I have decided to stop, I will try them out again with the ink inshaAllah

I circled the letters and areas that I feel look like how I imagine the typeface to look like. I will transfer them into paper and refine them and see how will they turn out πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

